titleblue
中文|English
zju
Current Position:Index>News>Group news
The slow motion of light that they filmed might refresh your worldview —— ultrafast laser research
Source : 美图君 把科学带回家   Time:2018-11-18

       Harold Eugene "Doc" Edgerton, a professor of electrical engineering at the MIT, used a high-speed camera at one million frames per second to take a picture of a bullet through an apple as early as 1964.



       But 50 years later, humans, specifically Ramesh Raskar's team at the MIT media lab, created cameras that could take a trillion photos per second, a million times faster than king's. This was the birth of femto-photography. You might think, what's the use of such a fast camera? Very useful. For example, you can see the movement of light. With femtosecond photography, the speed of light remains the same, but it no longer moves beyond the range of human vision. It's like coming into a room and turning on a light, and we can see where the light shines first, and then where it shines again. In other words, the speed of light is slowed down in our eyes. Take a look at the motion images of light and shadow taken by femtosecond photography. If you create a laser that lasts a few femtoseconds (10-15 seconds), you can create a bullet like laser beam. The laser, of course, moves at the speed of light, a million times faster than a normal bullet. Now what do we see when we shoot this coke bottle with this laser bullet?




       A more elaborate tableau --



       Well, the whole scene you just saw, takes no more than 1 nanosecond (10-9 seconds). What we're seeing is 10 billion times more diluted time. If we repeated the experiment with ordinary bullets, it would take us a whole year to see the bullet move from the bottom of the coke bottle to the top.



       The light we see, in fact, is scattered light, and instead of following the original path, it enters our eyes (i.e., the lens). This is especially true when the shot of light hits the cap, since many photons cannot pass through the lid and are forcibly dispersed.



       Because this kind of photography is already close to "walking with light," Raskar explains, at some point the events captured by the camera "travel through" and the subsequent events are exposed in advance. Using the theory of relativity to correct the warped space-time, we can get back the image of the normal time sequence. Einstein would have loved this photography. Take another look at still life taken by femtosecond photography.



       A more elaborate tableau --



       You can clearly observe that the light streaks across the tomato and the white set behind it like a ripple on the water. This is how light "colors" everything.



       Using this technique, Raskar's team also created technology to see through objects behind walls. In fact, a beam of laser light into the room will scatter, and eventually some of it will return to the camera. Depending on how far they have traveled, the time it takes for light to reach the camera varies, and using these differences, you can push back the distance they have traveled and calculate what's behind the door. It's like seeing through a person's body without x-rays. Here's how they see the shape of the object behind the door using their "see-through" technique



       The detailed principle of video——



       With this technology, there is no hiding place for people out of sight. Consider how promising the technology can be, such as seeing cars behind corners before turning, searching for survivors at inaccessible disaster sites, or performing painless enteroscopy without physical contact. These people, bring the light closer to us.



       原文链接:https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/-y1CpxSphB22e6EYa9EHiA

中文|English
zju
当前位置:首页>新闻动态>组内新闻
科学家们拍下了光的慢动作,可能会刷新你的世界观——超快激光研究

来源:美图君 把科学带回家   时间:2018-11-18

       麻省理工学院的电子工程教授哈罗德·金顿(Harold Eugene “Doc” Edgerton)早在1964年的时候,就利用每秒100万帧的高速相机拍摄了子弹打穿一个苹果的照片。



       但是50年后,人类,具体来说是麻省理工学院媒体实验室的 Ramesh Raskar 的团队创造出了每秒可以拍摄一万亿张照片的相机,比金顿的还快100万倍。这就是飞秒摄影技术(femto-photography)的诞生。你或许会想,这么快的摄像技术有什么用?用处可大了。比如,可以看清光的运动。有了飞秒摄影技术,虽然光速依然不变,但是它的运动不再能超出人眼的分辨范围。就像来到房间里打开一盏灯的时候,我们可以看到光先照亮哪里,然后再照亮哪里。换言之,光的速度在我们的眼中被“放慢”了。一起来看看,用飞秒摄影技术拍摄到的光影运动影像。如果制造一个持续几飞秒(10−15秒)的激光,那么我们就可以创造出一道像子弹一样的激光束。这道激光当然是以光速运动的,它的速度是普通子弹的100万倍。现在用这道激光子弹去射这个可乐瓶,我们会看到什么呢?




       更精致的画面——



       好吧,你刚刚看到的这整个画面,发生过程不超过1纳秒(10−9秒)。我们看到的,是经过100亿倍稀释后的时间。如果我们用的是普通的子弹来重复这个实验,那么我们要花一整年的时间,才能看到子弹从可乐瓶底部移动到瓶口。



       而我们看到的光辉,实际上是散射的光,它们不再沿着原来的路线前进,反而进入了我们的眼睛里(也就是镜头里)。当这粒光线子弹射到可乐盖上的时候,这个现象尤其明显,因为有许多光子无法穿越瓶盖,被强行分散了。



       Raskar 解释道,因为这种摄影技术已经接近“与光同行”,因此在某些时刻,相机拍摄到的事件“穿越”了,后发生的事件被提前曝光。利用相对论对扭曲的时空进行矫正,我们就可以重新得到时间顺序正常的影像。爱因斯坦会爱上这种摄影技术的。再看一看,用飞秒摄影技术拍摄的静物。



       更精致的画面——



       你可以明显地观察到,光就像水面的波纹一样划过番茄和后面的白色布景。这就是光给万物“上色”的方式。



       Raskar 的团队利用这种技术,还创造了看穿墙背后物体的技术。实际上,一束激光进入房间后会散射开来,最后其中的一些会回到摄像头里。因为经历的路程不同,光线到达摄像头的时间有差异,利用这些差异,就可以反推它们经历的距离,进而计算出门后有什么。这就好比不用X光就看透一个人的身体。下面就是用他们的这种“透视眼”技术看到的门后的物体形态——



       详细原理的视频——



       有了这种技术,在视线之外的人也无所遁形。想想看,这种技术的应用前景有多么广阔,比如在转弯前看清楚转角后面是否有车,在无法进入的灾难现场搜寻幸存者,也可以在没有物理接触的情况下进行无痛的肠道内窥镜检查。这些人,让光和我们更亲近了。



       原文链接:https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/-y1CpxSphB22e6EYa9EHiA