titleblue
中文|English
zju
Current Position:Index>News>Group news
John Bowers, a academician at the American academy of engineering, has developed a tiny silicon quantum dot laser that can be modulated directly
source :China laser   Time :2017-8-13

       Recently, the optoelectronic research team led by the American Academy of Engineering and Professor John Bowers of the University of California, Santa Barbara developed a directly modulated silicon quantum dot microlaser. The laser is epitaxially grown and integrated on a silicon wafer compatible with CMOS processes. The use of quantum dot-specific substrate defects, sidewall non-radiative recombination effects are reduced, and the buffer layer is optimized to reduce the dislocation density of the interface between the III-V material and the silicon wafer. Excellent laser performance on heterogeneous growth material systems with large differences in reverse domain, lattice mismatch, and thermal expansion coefficient: single mode lasing in the 1.3 μm communication band and high temperature at 103 K characteristic temperature Operating environment stability and low threshold current of 3 mA, 3 dB bandwidth of 6.5 GHz. Related results published in Photonics Research, Volume 2, Issue 20, 2018



       Figure 1 Schematic diagram of the device's epitaxial structure. Illustration: Atomic Force Microscope Topography of Quantum Dots


       Moore's Law predicts that the number of transistors in high-density integrated circuits will roughly double every two years. Correspondingly, the growing demand for miniaturization and large-scale integrated photonic components in large-scale computers and optical communication applications on silicon arrays is also the eternal melody of integrated optoelectronics. Quantum dot lasers have three-dimensional limitations due to the movement of carriers in the quantum dots in the material, with unique substrate defects affecting the reduced performance. This has made quantum dot-based epitaxial growth devices on silicon have made great breakthroughs in recent research. In order to further reduce the energy consumption of optoelectronic devices connected on-chip, the research on small-sized micro-ring lasers with single-mode lasing characteristics has attracted great attention.


       The use of quantum dots for the non-radiative composite effect of sidewalls is reduced. This study is based on the idea of a novel laser architecture that combines microring resonators with quantum dots to epitaxially grow small electrically pumped quantum dot lasers on silicon. And through the complicated process flow, the problem that the electrode metallization is limited by the micro-sized cavity and the optical loss caused by the defects of the whispering-wall mode (WGM) in the process are effectively solved. Compared with the previous experimental results, the results of this study (1) simultaneously achieved high temperature working environment stability (103 K characteristic temperature) and low threshold current (3 mA); (2) reported epitaxial growth of quantum dots on silicon The modulation characteristics of the laser (3 dB bandwidth of 6.5 GHz); (3) The system analyzed the performance degradation of the device with size, and verified the possibility of dense large-scale integration of epitaxially grown quantum dot micro devices on silicon.



       Fig. 2 (a) Schematic diagram of the device structure of the microring quantum dot laser; (b) Scanning electron microscope image; (c) Infrared microscope image of the device under lasing


       Professor John Bowers, deputy director of the Integrated Photonics Manufacturing Innovation Center in the United States, said that this work is an important step in the development of an epitaxial process for directly growing III-V elements on silicon substrates to replace the traditional wafer bonding process. Scale manufacturing while reducing costs, reducing size and reducing power consumption. The first author, Dr. Wan Yating, said that his group will focus on integrating coupled waveguides to effectively derive lasers. At the same time, distributed feedback (DFB) lasers, tunable lasers and other device designs have been completed. The group will combine photonic links with waveguides, modulators, optical switches, detectors and other silicon photonic devices and integrate them into the same material. The platform realizes high-speed, large-capacity on-chip optical communication.

中文|English
zju
当前位置:首页>新闻动态>组内新闻
美国工程院院士John Bowers团队研制出可直接调制的硅上量子点微型激光器

来源:管理员   时间:2017-8-13

       近日,美国工程院院士、加州大学圣芭芭拉分校John Bowers教授带领的光电研究团队研发出可直接调制的硅上量子点微型激光器。该激光器通过外延生长,集成在与CMOS工艺兼容的硅晶圆上。利用量子点特有的衬底缺陷影响、侧壁非辐射复合影响被减小的优异性能,并通过缓冲层的优化以减少III-V族材料与硅晶圆界面的位错密度,该课题组在存在着反向畴、晶格失配和热膨胀系数不同等巨大差异的异质生长材料体系上实现了优异的激光器性能:1.3 μm通讯波段的单模激射、同时兼具103 K特征温度的高温工作环境稳定性及3 mA的低阈值电流、6.5 GHz的3 dB带宽。 相关成果发表在Photonics Research 2018年第6卷第8期上



       图1 器件外延结构示意图。插图:量子点的原子力显微镜形貌


       摩尔定律预测,高密度集成电路中的晶体管数量大约每两年翻一番。相应的,在硅片阵列上的大型计算机和光通信应用方面,对微型化和大规模集成光子元件持续增长的需求,亦是集成光电子学科永恒的旋律。量子点激光器由于量子点中载流子在材料中的运动受到三维限制,具有独特的衬底缺陷影响被减小的性能。这使得基于量子点的硅上外延生长器件在近年来的研究中取得了巨大的突破。为进一步降低片上连接的光电器件能耗,具有单模激射特性的小尺寸微环激光器的研究引发了极大关注。


       利用量子点具备的侧壁非辐射复合影响被减小的优异性能,该研究基于将微环谐振腔与量子点相结合的新型激光器构架的设想,在硅上外延生长小型电抽运量子点激光器,并通过复杂的工艺流程有效解决了电极金属化受到微型尺寸腔限制的问题、回音壁模式(WGM)在工艺过程中的缺陷引发的光学损耗问题。与之前的实验结果相比,此次研究结果 (1)同时实现了高温工作环境稳定性(103 K特征温度)及低阈值电流(3 mA);(2)报道了硅上外延生长量子点微型激光器的调制特性(6.5 GHz的3 dB带宽);(3)系统分析了器件性能随尺寸减小的性能,验证了硅上外延生长的量子点微型器件密集大规模集成的可能性。



       图2 微环量子点激光器的(a)器件结构示意图;(b)扫描式电子显微镜图;(c)器件在激射状态下的红外显微镜图


       美国集成光子制造创新中心副主任John Bowers教授表示,该项工作对在硅衬底上直接生长III-V元素的外延工艺向替代传统的晶圆接合工艺的发展迈出了重要一步,有望实现大规模制造的同时降低成本,缩小尺寸,减小功耗。第一作者万雅婷博士表示其课题组接下来将致力于集成耦合波导,以有效导出激光。同时,已完成分布反馈式(DFB)激光器、可调谐激光器等器件设计,该课题组将结合波导、调制器、光开关、探测器等硅光子器件,组成光子链路并将其集成在同一材料平台,实现高速、大容量的片上光通信。。