titleblue
中文|English
zju
Current Position:Index>News>Group news
Carbon nanotube mode-locking Cr: YAG laser;All solid state microstructure fiber
Source :China laser   Time :2017-6-20

       Efficient solution for 1.5 μm, high repetition rate femtosecond light source – carbon nanotube mode-locked Cr:YAG laser


       High-average power, ultra-high repetition frequency (> 500 MHz) femtosecond light source has broad application prospects in the fields of nonlinear spectroscopy and material processing. Such a femtosecond light source with high pulse peak power and high repetition rate can greatly increase the number of pulses per unit time, improve the signal-to-noise ratio when used in the field of nonlinear spectroscopy, and greatly improve the processing yield in the field of material processing.


       However, developing a compact femtosecond light source with high average power and high repetition rate is not easy. They require a more delicate balance between the nonlinearity of the gain medium, the dispersion in the cavity, and the characteristics of the saturable absorber compared to low repetition rate femtosecond sources. For a femtosecond laser with a Cr:YAG laser crystal as the gain medium, the laser crystal has a small stimulated emission cross section and a low thermal conductivity, so the laser is very sensitive to gain and loss in the cavity, which further requires More precise control of the parameters of the saturable absorber


       Recently, Prof. Fabian Rotermund from KAIST (Korean Institute of Science and Technology) and Prof. Guang-Hoon Kim from KERI (Korea Electric Research Institute) demonstrated a compact version of carbon nanotube (CNT) mode-locking with a repetition rate greater than 500 MHz. Femtosecond Cr: YAG laser. They prepared CNTs with a 0.51% modulation depth and a 28 μJ/cm2 saturation energy density around a 1.5 μm wavelength. Using this CNT as a saturable absorption mirror, a mode-locked femtosecond Cr:YAG laser that can stably operate at a wavelength of 1.5 μm is realized. According to the research team, compared to other CNT-mode-locked Cr:YAG lasers, the laser currently has the highest repetition rate, with an output power of 147 mW and a pulse width of 110 fs. The results of this study are published in Chinese Optics Letters, Vol. 16, No. 6 (J. W. Kim et al., "550-MHz carbon nanotube mode-locked femsecond Cr: YAG laser." Vol. 16, No. 6, 061404, 2018).



       Figure 1. Schematic and physical photograph of a high repetition rate femtosecond Cr:YAG laser with carbon nanotube mode-locking. The compact laser operates near a 1.5 μm wavelength with a repetition rate of 550 MHz, an output power of 147 mW and a pulse width of 110 fs.


       Fabian Rotermund pointed out: "The CNT-mode-locked 1.5 μm wavelength femtosecond coherent light source is compact and can provide ultra-short pulses with high average power and high repetition rate, providing an efficient solution for various material processing and nonlinear spectroscopy. The next step will be to develop ultra-compact solid-state lasers based on CNT-mode-locked, repetitive frequency GHz.


       Normally dispersive all-solid-state microstructured fiber that can be used to produce broadband, high-flat, high-coherence supercontinuum


       The supercontinuum generated in the fiber contains a variety of dispersion effects and nonlinear phenomena, and has characteristics such as wideband and high brightness, and can be applied to many fields, such as ultrashort pulse generation and optical frequency measurement. In some applications, high flatness and coherence are important.


       Generally, a supercontinuum spectrum is produced when the pumping pulse wavelength is in the anomalous dispersion region of the fiber. Due to the effects of soli splitting and modulation instability, the resulting supercontinuum has poor coherence and the spectrum has more fine structures. When the pumping pulse wavelength is in the normal dispersion region of the fiber, the supercontinuum generation mainly depends on the self-phase modulation and the light wave splitting effect, and they can maintain the integrity and coherence of the pumping pulse. However, producing a high flatness supercontinuum under wide pulse pumping conditions is a significant challenge.


       The research team of the Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences has proposed an all-solid-state microstructured fiber. The structure of the fiber contains only regular hexagonal elements, and the optimized fiber has a small absolute and flat normal dispersion characteristic in the wavelength range around the wavelength of 1.55 μm. By numerical simulation, the research team used a pulse with a width of 200 fs, a peak power of 100 kW, and a center wavelength of 1.55 μm to pump the fiber, which can produce a super-continuous spectrum with high flatness and high coherence. In the -3 dB intensity range, the supercontinuum covers a wavelength of 1030 to 2030 nm, which is close to an octave. In theory, the supercontinuum pulse can be compressed to 13.9 fs (approximately 2.69 optical periods) by linear chirp compensation alone. The related results are published in Photonics Research, 2018, Vol. 6 (C. Huang, et al. Ultraflat, broadband, and highly coherent supercontinuum generation in all-solid microstructured optical fibers with all-normal dispersion).



       Left: Schematic diagram of the designed fiber structure; right: from top to bottom is the spectrum of the transmission lengths at 0, 5 and 100 cm when the pumping pulses are transmitted in the fiber. The parameters of the pump pulse are: pulse width 200 fs, peak power 100 kW, center wavelength 1550 nm.


       Compared with the reported fiber, the fiber can meet the needs of wider pulse pumping to produce broadband high flatness and high coherence supercontinuum. The team's researchers believe that the -3 dB intensity of the spectrum corresponds almost to the full width at half maximum of the spectrum, which is of great significance in applications; in addition, the use of this fiber as a nonlinear medium is expected to be achieved in the case of wide pulse pumping. Obtain an all-fiber broadband high-flat, high-coherence supercontinuum source. The next step is to achieve a supercontinuum source and ultrashort pulse compression for all fibers.

中文|English
zju
当前位置:首页>新闻动态>组内新闻
碳纳米管锁模Cr:YAG激光器;全固态微结构光纤

来源:中国激光   时间:2018-6-20

       1.5 μm、高重复频率飞秒光源的高效解决方案——碳纳米管锁模Cr:YAG激光器


       高平均功率、超高重复频率(> 500 MHz)的飞秒光源在非线性光谱和材料加工等领域有着广阔的应用前景。此类具有高脉冲峰值功率和高重复频率的飞秒光源可极大地增加单位时间内的脉冲数量,用于非线性光谱领域时可提高信噪比,在材料处理领域也可以极大地提升加工产量。


       然而开发具有高平均功率、高重复频率的紧凑型飞秒光源并不容易。与低重复频率的飞秒光源相比,它们需要在增益介质的非线性、腔内色散和可饱和吸收体的特性之间取得更精妙的平衡。对于以Cr:YAG激光晶体为增益介质的飞秒激光器来说,该激光晶体受激发射截面较小、热导率较低,因此该激光器对腔内的增益和损耗非常敏感,这进一步要求对可饱和吸收体的参数进行更精确的控制。


       最近,来自KAIST(韩国科学技术院)的Fabian Rotermund教授和KERI(韩国电气研究院)的Guang-Hoon Kim教授合作研究团队展示了重复频率大于500 MHz的碳纳米管(CNT)锁模的紧凑型飞秒Cr:YAG激光器。他们制备了在1.5 μm波长附近具有0.51%调制深度和28 μJ/cm2饱和能量密度的CNT。利用这种CNT作为饱和吸收镜,实现了可稳定工作在1.5 μm波长的锁模飞秒Cr:YAG激光器。据该研究团队所知,与其他的CNT锁模Cr:YAG激光器相比,该激光器目前具有最高的重复频率,输出功率为147 mW,脉冲宽度为110 fs。该研究结果发表在Chinese Optics Letters第16卷第6期 (J. W. Kim et al., “550-MHz carbon nanotube mode-locked femsecond Cr:YAG laser.” Vol. 16, No. 6, 061404,2018)。



       图1 碳纳米管锁模的高重复频率飞秒Cr:YAG激光器原理图和实物照片。该紧凑型激光器工作在1.5 μm波长附近,重复频率为550 MHz,输出功率为147 mW,脉冲宽度为110 fs。


       Fabian Rotermund指出:“基于CNT锁模的1.5 μm波长飞秒相干光源结构紧凑,能够同时提供高平均功率、高重复频率的超短脉冲,可为各种材料处理和非线性光谱提供高效的解决方案。”下一步的工作将集中在开发基于CNT锁模、重复频率达数GHz的超紧凑型固体激光器。


       可用来产生宽带、高平坦、高相干性超连续谱的正常色散全固态微结构光纤


       光纤中产生的超连续谱包含多种色散效应和非线性现象,具有宽带、高亮度等特性,能够应用于许多领域,比如超短脉冲产生、光频率测量等。在有些应用中,高平坦度和相干性是十分重要的。


       通常,当抽运脉冲波长处于光纤的反常色散区时可产生超连续谱。由于孤子分裂和调制不稳定等效应,产生的超连续谱相干性较差,光谱具有较多的精细结构。抽运脉冲波长处于光纤的正常色散区时,产生超连续谱主要依赖自相位调制和光波分裂效应,它们能够保持抽运脉冲的整体性和相干性。然而,在宽脉冲抽运条件下产生高平坦度的超连续谱是一个很大的挑战。


       中国科学院上海光学精密机械研究所的研究团队提出了一种全固态微结构光纤。该光纤的结构中只含有正六边形元素,结构优化后的光纤在1.55 μm波长附近的波长范围内具有绝对值小且平坦的正常色散特性。通过数值模拟的方法,该课题组采用宽度为200 fs、峰值功率为100 kW、中心波长为1.55 μm的脉冲抽运该光纤,能够产生高平坦、高相干性的超连续谱。在-3 dB强度范围内,超连续谱覆盖波长1030~2030 nm,接近于一个倍频程。理论上,仅仅通过线性啁啾补偿能够将该超连续谱脉冲压缩至13.9 fs(约为2.69个光学周期)。相关成果发表在Photonics Research 2018年第6卷第6期上(C. Huang, et al. Ultraflat, broadband, and highly coherent supercontinuum generation in all-solid microstructured optical fibers with all-normal dispersion)。



       左图:设计的光纤结构示意图;右图:从上到下依次是抽运脉冲在该光纤中传输时,传输长度分别是0,5和100 cm处的光谱。抽运脉冲的参数为:脉冲宽度200 fs,峰值功率 100 kW,中心波长1550 nm。


       与已报道的光纤相比,该光纤能够满足更宽的脉冲抽运产生宽带高平坦高相干性超连续谱的需求。该团队的研究人员认为,光谱的-3 dB强度几乎对应于光谱的半高宽,这在应用中具有重要的意义;另外,采用该光纤作为非线性介质有望实现在宽脉冲抽运的情况下获得全光纤宽带高平坦高相干性超连续谱源。下一步的工作重点是实现全光纤的超连续谱源和超短脉冲压缩。